Hutten Metaal Yamaha Racing and Rick Elzinga have clinched the Dutch Masters of Motocross 250 title at Rhenen. Elzinga didn’t took any major risk and scored enough points with an 11-4 moto score to clinch the title.

The track in Rhenen is one of the nicest tracks in the Netherlands. It was really warm and this made the track harder than normal. The day started really positive for the team. Elzinga came close to take the pole position and ended the time practice session in second. But Dave Kooiker and Andrea Bonacorsi found their flow as well during the session and posted the fourth and fifth fastest time!

In the opening moto it was Kooiker who took the best start from the three and came out of the first lap in fourth position. Kooiker was riding a consistent race and crossed the finish line in fourth. Bonacorsi and Elzinga came out of the first lap in seventh and eighth position. Bonacorsi was riding a strong race and managed to keep the pace high for the entire race. He took over second position with still a few laps to go and ended up in second position. Elzinga couldn’t find his rhythm and had some championship pressure on his shoulders. He came home in sixth but because his bike was making too much noise after the finish, he got a penalty of five positions and dropped back to eleventh position.

Elzinga was motivated to do better in the second moto. He took a good start and came out of the first lap in third position. He held on to this position in the beginning but later in the race he dropped back to fourth which was enough to win the title. Kooiker did a great job as well and came home in fifth. Bonacorsi had to come back through the field but gave everything he had and charged back from 12th to second position.

Bonacorsi finished second overall, Kooiker ended up in fourth and Elzinga took fifth overall. Besides the title of Elzinga, Bonacorsi and Kooiker were finishing in third and fourth position in the final championship standings.

Overall Dutch Masters 250 Rhenen:
1 Kay de Wolf 50 Pnt
2 Andrea Bonacorsi 44 Pnt
3 Lucas Coenen 40 Pnt
4 Dave Kooiker 34 Pnt
5 Rick Elzinga 28 Pnt

Dutch Masters of Motocross 250 Final Standings:
1 Rick Elzinga 172 Pnt
2 Lucas Coenen 160 Pnt
3 Andrea Bonacorsi 116 Pnt
4 Dave Kooiker 100 Pnt
5 Glen Meier 84 Pnt

Photocredits – Eric Laurijssen