Hutten Metaal Yamaha Official EMX250’s Rick Elzinga continued his winning ways at the second round of the EMX250 Championship in Agueda, Portugal. The Dutch star was inch-perfect all weekend, racing his GYTR kitted YZ250F to a second consecutive round win, but this time with a double-moto victory – the first of his career. As a result, the Yamaha ace has extended his championship lead out to 16-points over his closest rival.

Also, in Agueda, JK Yamaha Racing’s Lynn Valk dominated the second round of the FIM Women’s Motocross World Championship to celebrate her first-ever Grand Prix victory in style with a double-race win. As a result, the 19-year-old from The Netherlands has taken claim of the WMX Championship Lead. She was joined on the podium by fellow YZ250F racing stars Nancy van de Ven and Larissa Papenmeier, who made it a hat-trick for Yamaha by rounding out the final two places on the podium, respectively.

Carrying the EMX250 Championship Leaders’ red plate for the first time in his career, Elzinga confirmed he is the apparent title threat with a dominant performance in Race 1. The number 44 got off to a brilliant start and made a quick pass for the lead on lap 2. From there, the Dutch ace proved the master of the orange Agueda soil as he stormed to a 12-second lead and a commanding race victory.

In Race 2, Elzinga was equally as impressive. The Dutchman started third and quickly moved forward to take the lead on lap 3. Racing with pressure from his closest championship rival, Cornelius Toendal, the ‘44’ highlighted his maturity and remained unphased for the entire 16 laps to secure another flawless win.

Elzinga now leads the championship by 16-points over Toendal. His Hutten Metaal Yamaha Official EMX250 teammates Andrea Bonacorsi and Dave Kooiker are 12th and 20th in the Championship Standings after finishing 14th and 21st in Portugal, respectively.

The third round of the EMX250 Championship will take place in Maggiora, Italy, on May 7th and 8th.

Overall EMX250 Portugal:
1 Rick Elzinga 50 Pnt
2 Lucas Coenen 40 Pnt
3 Cornelius Toendel 38 Pnt
4 Marcel Stauffer 36 Pnt
5 Oriol Oliver 30 Pnt
14 Andrea Bonacorsi 13 Pnt
21 Dave Kooiker 2 Pnt

EMX250 Championship Standings:
1 Rick Elzinga 93 Pnt
2 Cornelius Toendel 77 Pnt
3 Oriol Oliver 62 Pnt
4 Meico Vettik 60 Pnt
5 Camden McLellan 57 Pnt
12 Andrea Bonacorsi 28 Pnt
20 Dave Kooiker 14 Pnt